Today was my 30th birthday.  I keep wispering the word “30” as if it is a bad word.  A lot happened in my twenties.  I met and married my husband, graduated college, moved four times, gave birth to two children, had two miscarriages, got a dog, worked at two different Head Start locations with two different jobs, quit said job to become a stay-at-home mom, participated in the wedding of two of my siblings, and so much more.  

I am not one to handle change well, but I survived all the changes my twenties challenged me with, I know I can handle anything my thirties throw at me.

In celebration of my birthday I made salsa with my son, did some sewing, had a nice supper that I didn’t have to cook, got some thoughtful gifts from my children, and went on a family walk.  I tried to enjoy the day as best I could.  I had to remind my kids “it is my birthday today” several times.  I kind of wish there was something I could say tomorrow to encourage good behavior!


My son made me a birthday card.  I have been working with him on writing his name.  He was doing pretty good with a model, but today he wrote it all by himself!  I was so proud of him.  (I would put a picture, but I have tried really hard to keep my kid’s names off my blog, so I won’t.)

He was also really sweet and wished me a happy birthday a lot and sang to me several times.  He also blew out one of my candles!  He is a little ornery. 

I guess turning 30 isn’t the end of the world, and I am looking forward to all that the next ten years can offer.

