Tags

, , , , ,

We have finally hit a big milestone with potty training!  Yay, I can officially say that at 2 years and 10 months our boy is potty trained!  Yes!

I tried every tactic in the book and to be honest, none of them worked.  I begged, I bribed, I rewarded, and I punished.  In the end the only thing he needed was time.  And an overnighter with Grandma and Grandpa.  Not sure why it was more motivation to please them than it is to please me, but in the end all that matters is that it is done!

In the last three weeks he has had only two accidents in the day and two accidents at night.  That is huge from at least one accident a day and an accident every night.  He does occasionally pee on himself in the bathroom, but I blame that on him not being able to get his jeans off in time.

We seriously tried so many different things.  It is crazy.  We finally started rewarding him with money every time he went on the potty.  When he had an accident (most were not accidents but were on purpose) he had to pay us.  The end reward was he got to spend the money in his “potty jar” at an arcade.  Like I said, none of the things I tried actually worked.  It was all up to him in the end.  Once he decided that instead of just peeing his pants he would run to the bathroom he was trained.

IMG_2815

A juice that he bought with his potty money at the arcade.

Do I regret the long year it took to train him?  No.  I would do it again.  I think starting him early, when he first started showing signs of being ready, was great.  The number of times I didn’t have to change a poopy diaper in the last year made it worth it.  Especially, considering that was the first thing he did on the potty consistently.  I don’t know what that kid eats, but man does his poop smell!!  (TMI)

He still has one more big reward coming.  My husband and I are going to take him to see a movie in the theaters.  We have not done that yet and I thought that would be a good ending reward.  Then I am getting rid of the candy bucket, the potty chart, and the potty jar.  Because he is finished!

