Tags

, , , ,

My little guy has turned 2!  I cannot believe how fast time has flown.  He is growing and developing so fast.  It seems every day he changes and learns something new.  His language is really starting to pick up.

His birthday party did not go as planned.  It got rescheduled due to him having strep throat.  Thankfully, almost everyone was still able to make it.

For his  party I went with a Tow Mater theme.  He watches Mater’s Tall Tales on Netflix all the time.  He loves it.  So I thought that would make a cute theme.

To start I went online and watched the show.  Pausing and taking screen clips of the different Maters.  I then took the screen clips and inserted them into a Word document.  Using the format tools I removed the backgrounds so I was just left with Mater.  This takes a little work.  You want to make sure you look at what it is keeping and removing and make adjustments.  I also looked online for some fonts that looked “Mater-ish.”  I used the “License Plate” font and “Magneto Bold.”

Birthday Invitation

Birthday Invitation

I ended up sending the invitations online because I was out of computer ink and running out of time to mail them.  I think they turned out pretty cute.

I used Pinterest to come up with some creative ideas.  I will try to link back to the original websites.  Most of the ideas I changed a lot, so the websites really just gave me inspiration.

I made a Tow Mater sign to hang on the front door.  Again I used an image from the movie and removed the background in Word.  It is a lot smaller than what I wanted, but again, I was out of computer ink. Click Tow Mater sign for a .pdf you can use!

DSCN1619

I made a “Speed Limit 2” sign to put outside.  It is always fun to have a few decorations outside.  When he is a little older it will make him feel extra special.  I got the idea here.  I just made this with a marker on construction paper.  If I wasn’t out of ink I would have made this on the computer, but hand drawn worked out fine.

DSCN1621

I made my son’s t-shirt.  I couldn’t really decided what to do for his shirt.  I don’t have an embroidery machine, so that took a lot of options out.  I really wanted it to represent Mater.  I decided to keep it simple.  I used a plain white t-shirt and sewed a brown felt “2” onto it.  I then added buck teeth out of some white material scraps I had.  My husband thought I should somehow put eyes on it, but I liked the simplicity of it.  I felt like it portrayed Mater enough.

DSCN1691

Like last year, I wanted to make his name as a cake table decoration.  I picked my favorite Maters from the show to portray.  If you have never seen Mater’s Tall Tales it is really cute and worth a watch.  The characters for these letters are “El Matador” and “Mater the Greater.”  I went a little simpler this year by just cutting out letters on white paper and coloring them with markers.  I then laminated them to give them some substance.  Plus, I just love to laminate things.

"El Matador"

“El Matador”

"Mater the Greater"

“Mater the Greater”

I saw a cute idea to make a “pit stop” sign for the bathroom.  Everyone coming to the party knows where the bathroom is, but I thought it would be fun.  I put a picture of Guido and made a checker flag background.  Just a fun little touch to the party.  Click Bathroom pit stop sign for a .pdf of the sign you can use!

Bathroom Pit Stop sign

The main decoration this year was his cake.  I am not a cake decorator.  I was barely able to cut out his Mickey cake last year so even attempting to make Mater was crazy!  I made a practice cake a few weeks before the party and was pleased with how it turned out.  I used several different websites to come up with how I was going to make the cake.  Website 1, website 2, & website 3.  None of these were exactly what I did.  I refuse to use fondant, and I am really an amateur.  But they are what gave me ideas.

DSCN1627

I used two 9×13 chocolate cakes.  I made a homemade chocolate frosting.  For the eyes and teeth (anything white) I melted some white almond bark.  The tires are Donnettes.  I covered pretzel sticks in milk chocolate for the towing rig.

DSCN1626 DSCN1635

I had fun making the cake.  My biggest problem is being patient between steps and letting every thing cool.

For a silverware dispenser I turned a wipes container into Mater.  It just took a little construction paper and hot glue!  I got the idea here.

DSCN1647

Sometimes the little decorations are just as important as the big ones.  I lined the plates up to look like a stop light.  I got the idea here.  I also turned the cake table into a road.  I used a black tablecloth and put yellow crepe paper down the middle.

DSCN1645 DSCN1602

 

Overall he had a great birthday party.  He is blessed with a wonderful family that loves him very much!

DSCN1663 DSCN1673 DSCN1679 DSCN1689

pinterest pin

