Tags

, , , ,

Halloween has come and gone and I never posted any pictures of my son’s homemade costume!  My plan is to someday make a tutorial, but don’t count on it.  I still haven’t written one from last year’s costume!

This year I decided my son was going to be Jake from Jake and the Never Land Pirates.  He enjoys watching the show and I thought it would be fairly easy to make.  There are some things I could have done to make it easier, but that just wouldn’t have been as much fun!

I made everything but the white shirt and pants.  The sword is by far my favorite part of the costume.

DSCN0497

This is what he did when I asked him to sit on the step.

This is what he did when I asked him to sit on the step.

DSCN0509

View of the back

View of the back

Close up of the boots and pants

Close up of the boots and pants

DSCN0531

Another view of the back

Another view of the back

The boots and sword were made of felt.  I used a piece of chair foam to help give the sword it’s shape.  The vest was made out of a fat quarter and bias tape.  (I am not a fan of bias tape, but have figured out a few tips to make it easier.)  The headband is a piece of knit fabric.  I also used a piece of felt to make the belt on the pants.

I had a lot of fun making the costume.  Except for the bad dreams I kept having about not getting it finished on time!

