Tags

, , , , , ,

Before our baby was 6 months old, I found out about Baby Led Weaning (BLW) and decided I want to give it a try. Basically, it is the idea that by six months of age your baby can eat anything. Sounds crazy doesn’t it. Well, I liked the idea of not doing nasty baby food. I hate them. So I thought this would be great. You just give them small pieces of your food. The pieces need to big bid enough for them to hold but small and squishy enough that they can gum it.

100_8224

Apple and bread

So I tried it. And he gagged and gagged and gagged. He never choked. But he also wasn’t eating any of it.

100_8219

I also didn’t feel that he was eating healthy enough. We don’t eat very many fruits and veggies so he was manly getting starch. He doesn’t need a lot of that.

100_8245

Oatmeal

Within two weeks I gave up. I started giving him baby cereal and fresh fruits and veggies. I still do not puree them. I don’t like feeding him mush, but I do make sure they are soft. I started baking the apples first. That is great because the baby doesn’t eat the entire thing, so I add some cinnamon and sugar and my husband and I eat the rest. It is like having dessert and fruit at the same time!

At this point the baby has had apples, kiwi, bananas, pears, peaches, carrots, peas, green beans, broccoli, sweet potatoes, bread, cheese, yogurt, crackers, Cheerios, oatmeal, and baby cereal, plus a few misc. bites of my food. Every time he gets something new he makes a funny face for the first few bites.

100_8243

At this point his system doesn’t get much digested. All the moms know how I know this…

I am glad I tried BLW, but next child I will know that I can’t handle it. I have a friend who is doing it and loves it.

If you want to find out more there is a book and a website. http://www.babyledweaning.com

Advice: Don’t be afraid to try new things. But, make sure you have researched it well to make sure it is safe.

