Tags

, , , , , ,

We do not eat healthy.  We don’t eat a lot of variety either.  On a normal week the only vegetable or fruit that we ate was potatoes.  Which most people don’t really count as healthy.  We needed to change.  This was not going to work when our baby started eating with us.

diet_042005

I added fruits and veggies to our menu.  We now eat at least one fruit or vegetable at each meal.  I also drink a glass of water at lunch before I drink any tea.  I have been doing this for a couple of weeks now.  I really don’t “feel” any healthier, however, I have lost two pounds.

It is really hard for me to fix the veggies.  We really only eat corn and green beans.  That gets pretty boring.  I don’t like fresh green beans, my husband doesn’t like canned.  I don’t like frozen corn, my husband doesn’t like canned.  Every time I buy corn on the cob it isn’t any good.

Fruit is even worse.  I like a lot of fruits, but I spend the money to get them fresh and they aren’t any good.  There is no way to know that the oranges bought today are going to be delicious and the ones bought tomorrow will barely be edible.  Some fruit goes bad so fast.  I bought strawberries and they were completely moldy in less than three days!  It is very frustrating.  The selection at our local grocery store is horrible.  So we have to buy the fruits and veggies when we are out-of-town.  I feel like we end up wasting a lot of it.

It doesn’t help that neither my husband nor I like to try new foods.  I tried to eat a tomato the other day, but I couldn’t bring myself to try it.  I have tried them before and didn’t like them.  I just couldn’t.  I wanted to.  I even had watermelon lined up to eat right after, but I gave up.  My gag reflex was about to kick in.  At least I tried…

What do you do to eat healthy?  What is your favorite recipe?

 

