Tags

, , , , , , ,

102_3232b

I love hanging pictures on my wall.  I grew up in a home where family pictures were every where.  That is how I have chosen to decorate my home.  Before having a baby my walls were filled with wedding pictures of my husband and I and pretty pictures that I had taken.  Now that we have a baby I needed to find a way to hang pictures of him!

I was having trouble finding frames that I wanted.  I pretty much just like black frames but I wanted the right sizes (8×10, 5×7) etc. for the pictures I had already printed.  I also wanted something that I could keep updating without loosing the old pictures.  I know you can change the pictures that are in a frame, but who does that?!  This is when I discovered canvas prints.  It was perfect.  I could use the pictures I wanted and I could keep updating by adding new pictures.

To start, I searched Pinterest for ideas on how to make it.  I found several blogs about it, each one a little different.  I took what I liked from each to make them my own.

Materials: Printed picture (print any size you want, as long as you can find a canvas to match it), framed canvas, mod podge, black paint, 2 paint brushes, scissors, wax paper, scrapbook paper, and a pen.

1) Print picture (In this blog I used a picture printed on regular paper from my printer, do NOT do this.) Use a picture printed on photo paper, preferably not from your computer as the ink might smear.

Picture

Picture

2)  Lay the picture face down with the canvas on top.  Use the pen to trace around the frame.  Even when you get the same sizes they will not match exactly.  You want the picture to be a little bit smaller than the frame.  Cut off the extra with scissors or an Exacto knife.

Tracing around the frame

Tracing around the frame

3) Lay down wax paper on your table.  Place the canvas face up.  Using a large paintbrush apply mod podge to the entire surface of the canvas.

4) Place your picture face up onto the canvas.  You will have a few minutes when you can adjust the picture to make sure it is on correctly.  Allow to dry! (About 5 minutes.)

102_3227

5)  Apply mod podge to the top of the picture (scary I know!)  Go top to bottom.  It works best if you get all the way to the bottom in one stroke.  If you don’t, start at the top again.  This lines will show on your finished picture.  Make sure there are no air bubbles or clumps.  Allow to dry! (You want it to be completely dry before going on to the next step, give it about 30 minutes.)

Applying mod podge

Applying mod podge

6) Repeat step 5 going the other direction.  Allow to dry!

7)  To cover up any staples on the sides:  Cut scrapbook paper to match the side.  Apply mod podge to the sides then apply the paper.  I found it works best if you wrap around the corners and end in the middle of a side.  Allow to dry!

Black scrap book paper to cover sides

Black scrap book paper to cover sides

8) Use the black paint (or any color that you want) to cover up the sides.  You want it to get onto the picture some.  Do not paint in strokes, you want to dab it.  Go all around the sides of the frame also.  (If you get some paint on the picture where you don’t want it, use a damp cloth to wipe it off before it dries.)  Allow to dry!

Painting sides

Painting sides

Painting top

Painting top

9) You are finished!  You will want to attach something to the back to hang it on the wall.  I bought picture hanging brackets.  I don’t recommend using them.  They cause the top of the picture to stick out from the wall.  Other suggestions I have seen are hot gluing string to the back.  I think I am going to try that next time.

Picture on left was printed on photo paper, picture on right was printed on computer paper

Picture on left was printed on photo paper, picture on right was printed on computer paper

The lines are what makes it look like a canvas

The lines are what makes it look like a canvas

I liked the look of the paint with out mod podge on top, the shinny part has mod podge

I liked the look of the paint without mod podge on top, the shiny part has mod podge

Advice:
*Take your time between steps.  Let the mod podge dry before you move on.
*Cut your picture a little bit smaller than the size of the canvas.  Your finished product will look much better, especially with the paint on it.  You will eliminate the gaps (see above picture.)
*Use a paint brush that does not loose hairs.  My brushes are pretty cheap and would loose hairs in the mod modge.  Retrieving the hairs causes a big smudge.  Spend the money to get nice ones.
*Ask for blank canvases for Christmas or your birthday.  It can get expensive buying them and then you end up with a pile of pictures you can’t hang because you don’t have the canvas.

