Tags

, , , , , ,

Let me start by saying that I hate oatmeal.  As many of you know I have a lot of quirks.  Texture being one of them.  I cannot stand the texture of biting into oatmeal.  Not to mention it smells bad!

That being said oatmeal is a good food to eat while breastfeeding as it helps with milk production (TMI, I know).  Anyway, I have been trying to eat more oatmeal.  I have made no bake cookies four times.  The last time the only way you could eat them was with a spoon.  I give up.  So I looked online for a recipe that involved chocolate chips.  I was very skeptical of the cookies.  I felt like I ruined a perfectly good batch of chocolate chip cookies when I mixed in the oatmeal!  However, they turned out great!  I actually liked them and plan on making them more.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter (softened)
1/2 cup shortening
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 1/2 cups flour
2 cups quick oats
2 cups mini chocolate chips

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350°.

2.  Cream together butter, shortening, brown sugar, and sugar.

3.  Add eggs and vanilla, mix thoroughly.

4.  Add baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and flour.  Stir into a creamy mixture.

5.  Add quick oats and chocolate chips.  Mix until well blended.

6.  Drop onto a greased baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes.

7.  Allow to cool for 1-2 minutes on the sheet.

I know 15 minutes is a long time to bake cookies but it is worth it.  They will come out soft on top and crispy on the bottom.  I loved them!

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

