Tags

, , , , , ,

This is a story of how my 25 minute morning routine turned into an hour and a half!

I used to get up 30 minutes before I had to be at work. In that time I would shower, do my hair, get dressed, and get to work (5 min. drive.) I didn’t wear make-up because I didn’t want to take anymore time in the mornings. I hate getting up. My alarm clock would go off every 5 minutes for half and hour before I would get out of bed.

Now I have to get up 1 1/2 hours before I have to leave the house. It takes 30 minutes to feed the baby, 30 minutes to pump (sometimes longer), and 30 minutes for me to get ready and get the baby ready and out the door. My “alarm clock” doesn’t have a snooze, nor does it let me continue to lay in bed for 30 minutes. “It” demands attention as soon as “it” goes off.

However, a few Sundays ago I was able to do everything in 45 minutes! My husband called from work on his break. When I was still in bed he reminded me about church. I told him that I knew but was still in bed. Then it clicked, church was in 45 minutes! Somehow I made it. Everything went so fast. I pumped while the baby was eating, showered as fast as I used to, and ran out the door. Unfortunately, I spent about 10 minutes in the service before having to take the baby to the nursery for the rest of the time. So I kind of felt like my efforts were in vain.

That was the only day I got ready that fast. The days following I had a really hard time pumping and sometimes after an hour I still didn’t have enough milk. So it was taking even longer to get ready.

Most days we don’t have to be any where in the mornings. I schedule our appointments for afternoons and we just don’t leave the house too much. This is a stay-at-home advantage. If it takes me 3 hours to get ready it doesn’t really matter.

I hate mornings. I think I always have. Getting up for school was always a chore. My siblings and I would get up, go to the living room, lay down, and fall back to sleep. We went to the living room so mom would stop yelling at us to get up! The first one there got the couch!

Currently my baby is not a morning person either. He sleeps till 9 (with some feedings before that, but he goes right back to sleep), then eats, and by 10 he is normally asleep again for a small nap. Which means I still have lazy mornings. And I love that. I love that I don’t have to get up and go to work. I get to sleep in, most days, and just have a relaxing morning.

I love being a stay-at-home mom!

20130812-100134.jpg
Sleeping as I pump and write this post (completely supervised while laying on my bed with a pillow).

Advice: Don’t plan things in the morning unless necessary. Plan on enjoying the time without the pressure of leaving the house.

