Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Now that my baby is able to grasp and hold things I like to hand him books to “read.”  The other day at the table he was starting to fuss and so I handed him a book.  It worked like a charm.  He stared at it, turned it over, chewed on it a bit.  He was really seemed to enjoy book reading =)

Reading a book

Reading a book

I feel it is really important to read to him so I have books scattered throughout the house.  I seem to have an abundance of ABC books.  I guess he will learn the ABC’s quickly that way.

Eating the book

Eating the book

My husband’s favorite book to read to him is “Star Wars ABC’s.”  That could be because my husband loves Star Wars.  For Christmas my mom got him a light saber.  Yes, a plastic toy light saber.  And a stuffed Yoda.  Guess what my son is going to be for Halloween……Did you guess Yoda?  I have already looked on pinterest for ideas on how to make the costume.  It is going to be super cute!

Anyway, with as much as my son likes to watch T.V. I try to get books in there as much as possible.  He really seems to study the pictures.  I love it when he reaches out and grabs at it.  It makes me feel like I am doing something right.

Advice:  Keep books handy.  You are much more likely to read to him if you don’t have to get up to get the book.  I suggest having at least two every place you sit.

