Tags

, , , ,

My baby has been putting himself to sleep for a month, now he has decided he needs to be held!  I am not sure what changed.  If I am holding him he will fall asleep, but as soon as he head hits the mattress he is wide awake and crying.

I had to stop swaddling him at night because he broke out of every swaddle and that was making me too nervous.  I hated coming into his room and the blanket was close to his face.  So we have gone to a sleep sack.  I have tried no light, no music, fan on, fan off.  It seems nothing but my arms will do!  Which is fine during the day/evening, but when night comes and I need to go to sleep I need him to sleep in his crib.

We have a good bedtime routine.  About the same time every night I feed him, change him, read him a book, say a prayer, give him a kiss and lay him down to sleep.  This had been working great…

As I write this post, with my crying baby in my arms, “Blessings” sung by Laura Story,  came on the radio.

“‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise”

I guess this was God’s reminder that, even in this trial ( sleeplessness) God is blessing me.  I am nurturing my wonderful son and taking care of him.  My son is a great blessing, we prayed and cried many times for him.  I am so thankful for him.

Advice: Be thankful even in the trials.  

