Tags

, , , , ,

My son had his first play date today (which means mom got to get together with friends!)  We had a lot of fun.  I got to see three friends I hadn’t seen in a while.  Out of the group there were three boys within three months of each other, an almost two-year old girl, and one girl who is a little older (I can’t remember exactly how old she is.)

We were going to meet at Sonic because that was our hang out spot back in the day, but it was cold and rainy so we went to Burger King.  That turned out to be a good idea so the girls could play on the equipment as we talked.  Of course, the topic of our discussion was our babies and all that went into bringing them into the world <pregnancy, labor, delivery, feeding>.  It amazes me how we all have different stories, yet we get the same results, healthy little babies.  For some breastfeeding was a real challenge or not possible.  Others had complications before delivery causing them to need to be induced.  Some of us had rough pregnancies with morning sickness and heartburn.  Not one of us had the perfect story.  Every single one of us had challenges we had to overcome to bring our miracles into the world.

Babies are miracles.

God is so creative.

I think it is a good thing God is in control.

Even with all the difficulties not one of us wishes for anything different.  We are all so in love with our babies and wouldn’t have it any other way.

I am hoping to get to do more play dates in the future, the problem is I live an hour away from them.  It makes it hard to get together.  When I go “home” I have my family and my husband’s family to visit with and it doesn’t normally leave time for friends.  Our families all live really close to each other.  My parents, my in-laws, my grandparents, my husband’s grandparents, and several aunts, uncles, and cousins all live within ten minutes of each other.  It takes an entire day home to see everyone.  Needless to say, it makes it hard to go see friends.

I am thankful that I chose to make a little time for myself today.  It was a nice break to talk with friends that are really in the same stage of life as me.

This has encouraged me to try to get to know women that live closer to me so that I can enjoy the friendship without always having to drive so far.  Maybe I will go to the breastfeeding group?  I might try it out next week…maybe.  Or I could start doing Zumba in my local town.  If I decide to try either of these I will let you know, as for now I am going to continue to be shy and just hang out with people I already know.

=)

Advice:  Take time for play dates!  You deserve it!

